Suki-desu, Suzuki-Kun!! Chapters 41 and 42: Rant Time.

7 Jul

Oh hey guys.

As you’ve all probably guessed, no I haven’t really gone anime browsing yet. I sort of tried to. Sort of.

But then Supernatural happened.

I need to stop picking up new fandoms…

*SIGH* anyway, I would like to get back to actual anime blogging. I do actually enjoy it.

So, moving on with the actual post:

This is going to be a really short post (unless I start ranting) BECAUSE NOTHING. FREAKING. HAPPENS. WE HAVE TWO WHOLE CHAPTERS THAT ARE BASICALLY IDENTICAL AND ACCOMPLISH BASICALLY THE SAME THING: NOTHING.

Here we go.

THIS PICTURE LIES.

 

Wait, woah woah woah woah WHAT. Could this be an ACTUAL title page for a chapter with ACTUAL Chinobu on it??? COULD IT BE THAT WE’RE FINALLY GOING TO FOCUS ON THESE TWO SO-CALLED MAIN CHARACTERS AS WELL?

Yeah. That was what I thought too.

So after we stumble through half the chapter on the school trip with awkward typical Sayakaru stuff, this happens:

BA DUN DUN DUN.

 

Yaaaaay! Chinobu!!! Chihiro realizes it wasn’t a dream.

And for some reason I really like her face in the last panel. It’s just…pretty? I dunno. I just like it.

Once again: BA DUN DUN DUN.

 

And Shinobu actually turns away one of his many ladies because he’s thinkin’ about Chihiro. Even though he supposedly hates her. Hah. Fool.

So this is a great build-up right? This chapter is sure to finish off with some awesome Chinobu, right? It can’t just end for the rest of the chapter, right???

That’s what I thought.

Stop being so pretty. Stop it. Right now.

 

WRONG.

After four measly pages, FOUR. THAT’S ALL WE GOT. We go back to Sayakaru.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love Sayakaru. And look at Sayaka, she’s unfairly gorgeous in this picture.

Once again, stop being gorgeous.

 

So I thought, “eh, all right. Whatever. We have to get more Chinobu in the next chapter, she wouldn’t just leave it at that.”

And besides, like I’ve said before, Sayakaru is adorable and honestly, they get some of the most beautiful full-page spreads. I mean sheesh, look at that. How can you not ship them?

So fine. Whatever. I mean, really all that was accomplished in this chapter was Sayaka and Hikaru slowly getting closer and slowly realizing that they are, in fact, meant for each other. And we got evident foreshadowing that Chihiro and Shinobu will probably meet again before the manga’s complete. That’s…about it though. It’s kind of a dry chapter. I mean, you know, typical cute Sayakaru fluff, but again…not much happens.

So the next chapter’s gotta improve some, right???

YES. STARTING OFF WELL.

 

YES. PERFECT. Starting right off with some Chinobu! It’s about time!

This is gonna be a great chapter! Right?

And, all together now, BA DUN DUN DUN!!!

 

EEEEEEEEEE!!!! I mean look at that! YES. Now they HAVE to confront each other eventually!

Maybe even in this chapter! Man I’m excited! YESSSSS!!!!

HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO TELL YOU STOP IT.

 

I KID YOU NOT.

That is it.

We got four pages of Chinobu in chapter 41, and TWO PAGES in chapter 42. The rest of the entire chapter was ALL Sayakaru.

And you know what was accomplished in all of the rest of those pages???

Abso-freakin-lutely nothing.

WE HAVE ALREADY ESTABLISHED THAT SAYAKA FELT ALONE AFTER THE ACCIDENT. WE HAVE ALREADY ESTABLISHED THAT HIKARU LOVES HER UNCONDITIONALLY. WE HAVE ALREADY ESTABLISHED THAT SHE’S SLOWLY STARTING TO TRUST AND LIKE HIKARU MORE. WE DID NOT NEED ALL OF THAT.

All of those pages could have been used to build up the story between Chihiro and Shinobu because they are the couple that ACTUALLY NEEDS IT. Sayaka and Hikaru have already been down this road, we’ve already watched them struggle to build their awkward romance. None of the extra fluffy date stuff was really needed! It could have all been summed up in a few pages, and then gone back to Chihiro and Shinobu, because they’re the couple I’m really worried about (and not just because I ship them a little more than Sayakaru).

And you know, I would have been more fine with all of this if it was more obvious that Chihiro and Shinobu were a side couple and Sayaka and Hikaru the main. BUT CHIHIRO AND SHINOBU ARE PLAYED UP AND ADVERTISED AS IF THEY’RE A MAIN COUPLE TOO AND THEY ARE SURE NOT GETTING TREATED LIKE THAT. IT IS NOT OKAY TO GIVE THEM THE TITLE PAGE AND THE BEGINNING OF A DIFFERENT CHAPTER AND THEN ONLY WRITE 6 PAGES ABOUT THEM. AND THEN SPEND THE REST OF THE PAGES FLUFFYING UP SAYAKARU WHERE IT WASN’T REALLY NECESSARY.

*sigh*

Okay. Rant done. I’m sorry.

All of that is just my opinion, feel free to argue with me. I probably won’t argue back, but you know, knock yourself out.

Okay. I’m done. We better get some actual Chinobu in the next chapter AT LEAST or I will throw something. Probably a piano. Probably at someone’s face. You probably don’t wanna be near me.

ANYWAY, as far as other stuff goes:

I will try to check out some recent anime. I promise. I do like anime blogging, I just haven’t really been emotionally attached to any recent ones. But I’ll try. For anyone who’s still out there. Have a pizza.

I’m gonna go simmer down with some tea. And maybe some anime!

Bye!

~August

Leave a Reply

